learn-metrics.git
5 months agoReplace launch script with kubernetes resource
Martin Pitt [Fri, 21 May 2021 06:56:59 +0000 (08:56 +0200)]
Replace launch script with kubernetes resource

This can be deployed locally with

    podman play kube learn-metrics.yaml

Generated with

    podman generate kube learn-metrics > learn-metrics.yaml

and heavy editing/manual cleanup.

5 months agoPre-configure prometheus data source in Grafana
Martin Pitt [Fri, 21 May 2021 06:34:06 +0000 (08:34 +0200)]
Pre-configure prometheus data source in Grafana

This mysteriously fixes the data source test "not found" error.

5 months agoRun unconfigured grafana and prometheus containers
Martin Pitt [Fri, 21 May 2021 06:08:03 +0000 (08:08 +0200)]
Run unconfigured grafana and prometheus containers

Start with `./launch.sh`, tear down with `podman pod rm -f learn-metrics`.

Prometheus explorer at http://localhost:3001 (to avoid port conflict
with Cockpit). It can list or graph simple queries like
`go_memstats_heap_objects` or `go_memstats_heap_objects[5min]`.

Metrics source at <http://localhost:3001/metrics>
<http://metrics-prometheus:9090/metrics> (in grafana container).

Grafana UI at <http://localhost:3000>, log in as admin:foobar. Manually
add Prometheus data source at <http://metrics-prometheus:9090/metrics>.

This fails with "HTTP Error Not Found" with "Server" access (which is
usually what you want -- "Browser" access fails on CORS).